Dutch payment provider with self-serve sign-up, payment links, invoicing, recurring payments and pay-per-transaction pricing. Licensed by the Dutch central bank; bought GoCardless in September 2026.
Compared with Stripe: Self-serve sign-up and no monthly fee, like Stripe. EEA consumer cards cost 1.80% + €0.25 against Stripe's 1.5% + €0.25, and its product range is smaller than Stripe's.
- Headquarters
- Amsterdam, Netherlands
- Your data
- Not stated
- Price
- On request
- Free plan
- No
- Best for
- Small and mid-size businesses selling online
Dutch payment platform that processes and acquires online, in-app and in-store payments through one integration. Charges a fixed processing fee plus a payment-method fee, with no setup or monthly fees.
Compared with Stripe: Similar global reach for large merchants, with its own acquiring and in-store terminals. Fixed processing fee plus interchange++ pricing; aimed at bigger businesses, with a heavier integration.
- Headquarters
- Amsterdam, Netherlands
- Founded
- 2006
- Your data
- Not stated
- Price
- On request
- Free plan
- No
- Best for
- Large merchants selling online and in stores
London payment processor for large online businesses, with its own acquiring, fraud tools and payouts. Prices are set per merchant on interchange++ terms.
Compared with Stripe: Processing and acquiring for high-volume online businesses, priced per merchant on interchange++ terms. Not built for small self-serve sign-ups the way Stripe is.
- Headquarters
- London, United Kingdom
- Founded
- 2012
- Employees
- 1,001–5,000
- Your data
- Not stated
- Price
- On request
- Free plan
- No
- Best for
- High-volume online merchants and marketplaces
Sells software and apps on the vendor's behalf as merchant of record, so it takes the payment and handles sales tax, VAT, fraud and chargebacks. Charges 5% plus 50¢ per checkout transaction.
Compared with Stripe: Acts as merchant of record, so it also handles VAT, sales tax and chargebacks. Costs 5% + 50¢ per transaction, well above Stripe's fee; built for software sellers.
- Headquarters
- London, United Kingdom
- Founded
- 2012
- Employees
- 397
- Funding raised
- $93.3M
- Your data
- Not stated
- Price
- On request
- Free plan
- No
- Best for
- SaaS and app makers selling worldwide
Greek payment provider, formerly Viva Wallet, offering online checkout, card terminals and phone payments together with a business account. JPMorgan Chase holds a 48.5% minority stake.
Compared with Stripe: Online checkout, card terminals and a business account from one Athens provider. Online EEA consumer cards cost 2.19% + €0.24 on its Irish price list, above Stripe's standard rate.
- Headquarters
- Athens, Greece
- Founded
- 2000
- Your data
- Not stated
- Price
- On request
- Free plan
- No
- Best for
- Small and mid-size merchants selling online and in store
French payment provider for small and mid-size merchants, with online checkout, payment links and in-store payments. Part of BPCE Merchant Services, the payments arm of a French banking group.
Compared with Stripe: French provider for small and mid-size merchants, online and in store. Charges 1.5% + €0.25 for euro-zone consumer cards online, like Stripe, plus a €10 monthly Starter fee.
- Headquarters
- Paris, France
- Founded
- 2012
- Owned by
- Groupe BPCE (France)
- Your data
- Not stated
- Price
- From €10/month
- Free plan
- No
- Best for
- French small and mid-size online shops
French payments group offering in-store terminals, online payment gateways and omnichannel acceptance to merchants of all sizes across Europe.
Compared with Stripe: Large French acquirer with online gateways and card terminals across Europe. Suits established merchants wanting one acquirer for shops and web rather than a developer-first, self-serve start.
- Headquarters
- Paris, France
- Your data
- Not stated
- Price
- On request
- Free plan
- No
- Best for
- Established retailers wanting one acquirer for every channel
Italian payments group that merged with Denmark's Nets and Italy's SIA. Offers merchants card terminals, ecommerce payment gateways and acquiring, and runs card services for banks.
Compared with Stripe: Italian payments group, merged with Nets and SIA, offering acquiring, terminals and ecommerce gateways. Products and pricing vary by country.
- Headquarters
- Milan, Italy
- Your data
- Not stated
- Price
- On request
- Free plan
- No
- Best for
- Merchants wanting one acquirer for shop and web
Collects recurring and one-off payments straight from bank accounts through Direct Debit and open banking, for subscriptions and invoices. Part of Mollie since September 2026.
Compared with Stripe: Bank payments instead of cards: Direct Debit and pay-by-bank for subscriptions and invoices. Not a card processor, so most online shops pair it with another provider.
- Headquarters
- London, United Kingdom
- Founded
- 2011
- Employees
- 501–1,000
- Owned by
- Mollie (Netherlands)
- Your data
- Not stated
- Price
- On request
- Free plan
- No
- Best for
- Subscription and invoice-based businesses
Card readers, point-of-sale apps, payment links and online checkout for small merchants. The default pay-as-you-go plan has no monthly fee; Payments Plus lowers fees for €19 a month.
Compared with Stripe: Card readers, payment links and simple online checkout for small businesses, with no monthly fee on pay-as-you-go. Far fewer developer and platform features than Stripe.
- Headquarters
- London, United Kingdom
- Founded
- 2012
- Employees
- 2,741
- Funding raised
- $1.4B
- Your data
- Not stated
- Price
- On request
- Free plan
- No
- Best for
- Small shops, cafés and market traders
Frankfurt payment provider owned by Worldline and DSV, the German savings banks' service group. Offers online payments, card terminals and acquiring for merchants in Germany.
Compared with Stripe: Frankfurt provider owned by Worldline and the savings banks' DSV Group, covering online payments, terminals and acquiring. Online starter package costs €29 a month; built for merchants in Germany.
- Headquarters
- Frankfurt, Germany
- Owned by
- Worldline and DSV Group (France and Germany)
- Your data
- Not stated
- Price
- On request
- Free plan
- No
- Best for
- German merchants selling online and in store